College Student Offenses
You are supposed to have the time of your life when you’re in college, but a conviction for an OVI crime can make that time miserable. Not only will you face penalties from the court, but your university may decide to take action as well.
You will need legal representation with proven experience defending OVI if you plan to fight the accusations against you. The sooner you contact a defense attorney, the better your chances of having a more favorable outcome in the courtroom.
College Student Defense Lawyer in Columbus, OH
You have the constitutional right to legal representation. Exercise that right and contact Joslyn Law Firm today. Call (614) 300 - 3025 to schedule a confidential consultation.
Joslyn Law Firm represent college students accused of DUI / OVI crimes in central Ohio counties including Franklin County, Delaware County, Union County, Madison County and many more.
Ohio College Student Offenses Information Center
- Consequences of a DUI / OVI on College Students
- Operation of a Vehicle after Under Age Consumption (OVUAC)
- Additional Resources
If you are a college student who is over 21 and was arrested for driving under the influence, you will face the same penalties as a non-college student. To be charged with the crime, you must be impaired by alcohol or a drug, or you have a BAC over 0.08.
These penalties can be increased based on your prior criminal record and whether or not you score a high or low test. But for a first offense, you could face 72 hours or up to six months in jail, up to $1,075 in fines, a suspended license for up to six months and limited driving privileges.
Along with the penalties mentioned above, you could also face additional consequences under your universities student code of conduct policy. Every college has their own code of conduct for students. These consequences can range from a formal reprimand to permanent dismissal. Check your university’s code of conduct for a full list of consequences.
One of the most significant consequences for college students convicted of OVI is the lost opportunity to apply for federal student loans and Pell Grants. Without these funds, you may lose your chance to earn a college education.
Just because you are over 18 and are classified as an adult doesn’t mean you can legally consume alcohol. The BAC needed to meet the legal definition of an intoxicated driver is much lower for drivers under 21. The legal limit for underage drivers is 0.02. This means you could be arrested for OVI after a single beer.
If you are convicted of OVUAC, you could have your license suspended for 90 days or up to two years. You will also have to reinstate your license and complete a required eight-hour remedial driving class. While it’s rare, a judge may sentence you to up to six months in jail. But just because it’s rare doesn’t mean a judge won’t make an example out of you.
Code of Student Conduct | Ohio State University– Read through the Ohio State University code of student conduct. The guide outlines the steps involved when a student is accused of a criminal offense. You can also gain access to prohibited conduct and the general guidelines for sanctions.
OVI Laws | Ohio Revised Code– Visit the Ohio Laws and Rules website to read the full text of the statute governing OVI in the state. You can also read the precise text of what Ohio considers operating a vehicle under the influence and how the crime is penalized.
Columbus, OH DUI Defense Attorney
If you are a college student who was recently arrested for driving under the influence, you will need Joslyn Law Firm on your side to defend the allegations against you. The sooner you contact legal representation, the better your chances of a more favorable outcome in court.
Call (614) 300 - 3025 to schedule a confidential consultation. Joslyn Law Firm defends college students of OVI offenses in counties such as Pickaway County, Fairfield County, Licking County and more.